Reviews

  • “passion for his work”‎‎

    By Daniel and Amanda – Oct 26st 2013

    From first meeting Jason for an estimate to have our 90 year old floors refinished it was very clear that he really has a passion for his work. After seeing what was completed it is clear that he does it well. Once work began, all of his employees were polite, efficient and cleaned up well after themselves when they were done. Jason was also at the house working or checking in on the work every day. The finished product is amazing and the floors now stand out as a feature. Jason also did some work removing an old heater vent in the flooring and his attention to detail with that was incredible. Overall I am very happy with the quality of the work provided and I will recommend Jason/Gainesville Wood Flooring to friends and family for any flooring work needed. I also plan on having Gainesville Wood Flooring back to work on other areas of our home. ~Daniel & Amanda

    “I was kept informed every step of the way”‎‎

    By Sue S. – Oct 1st 2013

    Dear Jason,
    Just a note to say how much I love my “new” wood floors. They turned out better than expected. It makes the whole house look brand new. And, in fact, it has inspired me to do a little re-decorating.
    I also want to say I appreciate your professional manner. You and your assistant Neil started the job in a timely manner and promptly completed the job. I was kept informed every step of the way and notified when you finished the job so I could start my “count down” to move back in.
    In conclusion, I would and will highly recommend your services to other people. Please feel free to use me as a reference any time. Thanks again for a job well done.
    Sincerely, Sue

    “an artist’s eye and sense of workmanship”‎‎

    By Meghan and Will – Sept. 14th 2012

    Jason Straw brought an artist’s eye and sense of workmanship to
    refinishing our oak parquet floors, covered for half a century by
    carpet in the home we purchased a year ago. We liked the results so
    much that we have hired him for three separate projects since: to
    install a new floor on our porch, refinish the floors in our rental
    house, and renovate our kitchen. Jason is a consummate professional;
    he gets the job done on time and within the budget. He also takes the
    time to educate those uninitiated about his craft; not only do we have
    beautiful floors, we now know more about how they came to be that way.
    Working with someone who has such a passion for his profession and
    commitment to the community made what could have been a stressful
    series of renovation projects a rewarding and educational experience.
    -Meghan and Will

    “He did such an impeccable job!”‎‎

    By Oxana – January 2013

    Few months ago, Jason Straw installed ~1100 sf of engineered wood floors in our house. In 3 rooms it was installed on glue and in one room on nails. He did such an impeccable job! We were very happy with the final result. We also thought that his fees were very competitive. Since we were highly satisfied how that project came out, we hired Jason to update our buildins around our fireplace and mantel. Per Jason’s advise, we chose walnut wood and panels. Jason’s design and craftsmanship were beyond our expectations! We have received many nice comments from our quests about this piece. We highly recommend Jason’s company for all your projects!

    Passionate pretty much sums it up‎‎

    By Daniel – Aug 23, 2010

    Jason and his team refinished the original red oak parquet floors in our 62yo house. He provided an accurate estimate of cost and time and finished the project according to his estimate. The floors look amazing and dealing with Jason was easy. Would definitely hire him again and recommend him to family and friends.‎

    Michael ‎ – Sep 19, 2011
    This guy knows what he is doing! Since Jason was a referral from a fellow friend, I personally recommend him now to everyone I know. Not only did Jason do a remarkable job on refinishing the floors but they also feel amazing to the touch. Beside the fine work Jason performed on refinishing my floors, his expertise and advice are unmatched.

    Roger ‎ – Jul 9, 2011
    Of course the floors that Jason refinished looked wonderful. All of the richness of the old wood came out and we get lost in the character of each individual board. We particularly liked the way Jason explained in great detail the refinishing process and the various options. He wasn’t afraid to suggest the best way to go. We took his advice. It gave us great confidence in his work which was borne out by the final result.

    Top Notch Wood Wordworking‎‎

    By LP – Jun 23, 2010

    Jason Straw installed wood floors in my home 7 years ago. He did a top notch job and they are still looking fabulous! Jason is an incredibly talented, dedicated craftsman as well as a good, honest person. I highly recommend his services!!!

    Two thumbs up‎‎

    By Kim – Jun 23, 2010/h3>

    Jason Straw refinished the oak floors in my 1948 home, and the quality of the work dramatically improved the beauty of my house. Two thumbs up for a job well done and a third thumbs up for providing information on how to keep them looking great. You’ll be happy you went with him.‎

    Fabulous job!!!‎‎

    By egetol – Apr 15, 2010

    Jason and his team resurfaced the wood floors in our 70 year old home. We were told about 5 years ago, after a mediocre floor refinishing that the next step and last resort was to completely replace our floors. This was so sad for us because the planks that comprise our floors are no longer available. Jason and Neil assessed our floors and refinished them beautifully! (When people enter our home they actually comment on how well maintained our floors are!) They were professional, expeditious, helpful and very knowledgeable. They explained the process from top to bottom kept us informed and were finished on time. They also took the time to explain the products they were using and how to care for and clean our floors afterwards (for the next 15 years!). We greatly appreciate their services and the care they took in their work as we take great pride in our home. I recommend them highly and will definitely use their services again in the future.

    A man of honor.‎

    By Rob – Mar 28, 2010

    Jason Straw is a true man of honor. He takes extreme pride in his work and will do everything necessary to make sure the job is done right. Hard working and a fun guy to be around. You’ll be glad you hired this guy. And you’ll remember his spirit for the rest of your life!‎

    Meghan ‎ – May 18, 2011
    Our floors look fantastic, better than I had ever hoped. We moved into a house with half-century-old wall-to-wall carpet. We hauled that away, and found that the floors beneath were a dark stained oak parquet. Jason sanded them down to restore their natural light oak color, bringing out the grain and variations in the shiny golden color. The new old floors give our house a vintage feel while bringing it into the 21st century. Jason is truly an artist!

    Patricia ‎ – May 9, 2011
    The floors look and feel stunning. Jason Straw and Gainesville Wood Floors were fast, professional, down to earth, and the pricing seemed very fair for the work done. They resurfaced all of the wood floors in the house, and the whole space is transformed. I can’t recommend them highly enough.
    Was this review helpful? Yes – No – Flag as inappropriate
    Respond publicly as the owner

    James&Heather ‎ – May 4, 2011
    Our floors are Amazing to look and walk upon thanks to Jason. He is pleasure to work with and incredibly helpful. The floors required some unique restoration which Jason handled with ease. We highly Recommend him for Quality craftsmanship and Affordability.

    Jason Straw is a woodworking maestro.‎

    By Scott – Mar 27, 2010

    Jason Straw installed the wood floors in our house and does excellent work. He is easy to work with and has the rare quality of caring deeply about doing things the right way. I am certain he can be trusted with your next woodworking project, whatever it may be.‎

    Jason Straw refinished my old wood floor…‎‎

    By Katie – Mar 26, 2010

    Jason Straw Fine furniture and wood working refinished my old wood floors. The service provided was both professional and courteous. The final product is really spectacular. I would highly recommend Jason to any of my friends.‎

    Highly Recommended‎‎

    By Claudiachinchin – Mar 26, 2010

    Jason Straw is a true artist. He has an eye for detail and a wonderful way of transforming whatever material he works with. On another note he is an honest businessman. I highly recommend his services and ability.

    Working with Jason was wonderful.‎‎

    By Ed‎ – Dec 5, 2010

    Working with Jason was wonderful. Jason is passionate about his work and takes pride in doing great work, particularly his carpentry. He and his team made new cabinet doors, cabinets, broke out a wall and made a beautiful breakfast oak bar. He gave a fairly accurate estimate of time and price. Jason is very innovative with his ideas. I am looking forward to working with Jason again.